Decisions Are Out – 2012

It’s official. As you may have noticed the URAdmission Twitter feed announce, decisions left our building Friday afternoon via the U.S. postal service (and began to go out via email for international students). Most will likely be arriving early this week, depending on your distance from Richmond.

We had another record-breaking year, and the most competitive admission pool in the University’s history, with over 10,200 applications received. Needless to say, selecting from such a large and qualified applicant pool for a class of 765 proved to be a very difficult task. (See last week’s mythbusting post about selecting a class if you’re curious how that actually works — not just for Richmond, but for selective colleges in general.)

To all admitted students: many congratulations! Honestly, it blows me away each year just how much stronger and stronger our pool becomes, even as it grows in size. The talent and achievement we discovered this year is unparalleled in my five years with the Office of Admission. You ought to be extremely proud of your accomplishment.

Of course, we hope you’ll also choose us and decide to become a Spider! You can find everything admitted students need to know on our Admitted Student site; I’d highly encourage you to consider attending one of our upcoming admitted student events. If you can’t make one of the big events, we’d still welcome you to visit anytime in April! Even if you’ve been to campus before, your visit experience as an admitted student will be unique — I guarantee it.

For those offered a place on the wait list, I can’t emphasize enough that receiving a wait list offer from Richmond is a positive decision. This is true now more than ever. It means that the committee felt your application was competitive in a very tough pool, that you’re well qualified to be at Richmond, and that we would love for you to join our community, should space become available.

Be sure to read the wait list brochure carefully and thoroughly, and most importantly make sure you submit the Wait List Response Form in order to be considered further should the opportunity arise. One of the most commonly misunderstood things about the wait list is that you actually have to accept a place on it; only about a third of students to whom we extend offers will actually accept those offers. If you don’t accept, we’ll assume you’re not interested. (Even if you choose not to accept, we’d still appreciate it if you filled out the form and let us know where you’re planning to attend.)

To students who were not admitted, we really appreciate your interest in Richmond, but this year’s pool was extremely tough, as mentioned above. We have very limited space in the class and on the wait list. If your interest in Richmond remains high, we’d encourage you to consider the option of transferring after one full year of study at another accredited institution; if you have questions about how this would work, please feel free to contact us. We’re more than happy to help counsel, even in terms of college course selection to ensure that you’re taking transferable credits.

Questions? Post away!

7 Comments

  1. Alexis J.
    Posted March 28, 2012 at 9:16 am | Permalink

    The letters were sent out friday but I haven’t received a letter yet. Any reason why it hasn’t come?

  2. Taylor
    Posted March 28, 2012 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

    I accepted my spot on the waitlist and I read the brochure about when to expect a decision but it is a pretty broad window. I was just wondering when in the past final decisions have gone out? I was also wondering if any stats were available about this years number of admitted students or those waitlisted? Thanks!

    • Tom
      Posted April 4, 2012 at 11:50 am | Permalink

      Taylor,

      You’re correct – the window is broad. That’s because we won’t really know until at least May 1 whether or not we can go to our wait list; if we’re able to do so at that point in time, it is still a lengthy process of re-reviewing applications in the admission committee, contacting individuals, making offers, and waiting to hear back before potentially repeating the process again (since we’re trying to hit a specific target number for our class). In previous years, many (but not all) of our wait list offers have been made during the month of May. All students on the wait list will receive an update from us by mid-June at the latest.

      Our admission rate this year was around 30%, a little more selective than last year. We don’t yet know how many students will end up on our wait list, since only a fraction of students take the wait list space we offer them. In previous years, our wait list has ranged in size from 600-1000.

      I know it’s a long process, and we very much appreciate your patience. We want to figure things out as quickly as possible, too, but some things just take time!

      Tom

      • Red
        Posted June 23, 2012 at 10:39 am | Permalink

        I haven’t heard anything more about the wait list. Do you have any idea if we’ll know before July, the likelihood of one of us being chosen, and the likelihood of getting financial aid?

  3. Carmen
    Posted April 3, 2012 at 10:52 am | Permalink

    I live in Carson, Va. I have not received a response from U of R yet. I am a little concerned. I understand it has been over a week since the letters of admission were mailed out. Who could I contact to find out about the status of my application, please?

    • Tom
      Posted April 4, 2012 at 11:37 am | Permalink

      Carmen (and any applicants who have not heard from us yet):

      Give our office a call at 804-289-8640 to see if we can sort things out.

  4. Carmen
    Posted April 9, 2012 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

    Tom,
    I received my letter of admission last Friday. I am thrilled and flattered to be among the few selected for admission. However; my excitement is short lived as I also got my letter of award from the Financial Aid Office, which leaves me in the sad predicament of possibly having to choose an alternate school. This really breaks my heart as I truly had envisioned myself as a Spider already. Intensive research and my Professor’s advice have led me to University of Richmond and the Robbins School of Business as the best fit for my career goals. Tom, is there anything I could do to appeal the Financial Aid determination?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

