Don’t just take my word for it…

By Tom

I hope that my last post on financial aid was helpful, especially my words of praise about financial aid at Richmond – but don’t just take my word for it!

Within the last month, three separate publications – Kiplinger’s, SmartMoney, and most recently Princeton Review/USA Today – have come out with rankings of the country’s “best value” colleges, and I’m proud to say that the University of Richmond is on all three lists (breaking the top 20 on two of them, and ranking second on SmartMoney’s sub-list of liberal arts colleges).

Of course, as with any rankings, you have to investigate how the conclusions were reached and what data were used. Rankings – whether college-related or otherwise – are only as good as the data and methodology that goes into them, and I always recommend being careful how much weight you give to them. In this case, however, I think it says a lot that Richmond came out very favorably under three very different ranking systems.

The bottom line? Richmond is being recognized nationally by multiple sources for its combination of quality education and commitment to affordability. And, more importantly, that commitment remains as strong as ever, and the resources are in place to back it up.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

