ED letters and more football

By Tom

Early Decision letters are in the mail, and should begin hitting in the next day or two! (If you’re wondering, no, we do not post admission decisions online – you have to wait for that envelope to arrive at your house.) Maria wrote a great post last year explaining the different decisions, and rather than re-writing I’m simply going to point you to her post. If you have questions, feel free to post them on this entry, and I’ll get back to you as quickly as possible. Congratulations to our new members of the Class of 2013!!

And in other big news… did anybody see that football game?? On Saturday at the University of Northern Iowa, the Spiders came back in the fourth quarter from a 20-7 deficit to win 21-20 on a touchdown and extra point with 14 seconds left in the game. It was unbelievable. You can read about it and see the highlights on our athletics website.

Which means that, for the first time in school history, the Richmond Spiders are headed to the FCS NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP!!! We’ll be playing Montana this Friday at 8:00 (on EPSN2 and ESPN 360). I’m hoping to make the journey to Chattanooga for the game. Make sure you watch, and GO SPIDERS GO!!!

(If you’re a new reader looking at the last few entries, I promise that I really do keep this blog focused primarily on admission… but with a football postseason as exciting as this one has been, I just can’t help but rave.)

5 Comments

  1. Maria
    Posted December 15, 2008 at 5:43 pm | Permalink

    Oh my gosh! I was so excited on Saturday, even though I didn’t get to watch the game (long story)… I picked up my phone in the middle of dinner to see that I had no less than 10 text messages and dozens of emails about our HUGE win!!!!

    I’m so happy to be an adopted Spider! Go Spiders!!!!!!!!

    Oh, and thanks for continuing to keep up the blog in my absence, Tom.

  2. Shohsei
    Posted December 16, 2008 at 5:30 am | Permalink

    Hey, I’m an Early Decision applicant, but live abroad. When do the e-mails for students living in foreign countries get sent out?
    Thanks for your time!

    • Tom
      Posted December 16, 2008 at 11:51 am | Permalink

      Students living abroad should receive notification within a week or so, if they have not received notification already. It’s a slightly different process when we have to send letters around the world and use e-mail!

  3. Tom
    Posted December 17, 2008 at 10:54 am | Permalink

    One of our Spider Diary writers, Ben, just put up a great post about football at UR and how as a student, because of our size, you actually do get to know your National Championship-bound players. Check it out.

  4. Peter Campfield
    Posted December 6, 2009 at 1:46 pm | Permalink

    Two things: I actually really like the fact that you don’t send e-mails regarding admission decisions. I think it kind of defeats the purpose of opening up your acceptance letter. Also, it was awesome when UR won the national championship… Too bad they lost to App State in a heartbreaker last night. But hey, the basketball team looks great and should be really good next year with Anderson returning. Go Spiders


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

