Where is Tom now?

By Tom

Hello out there!  I’m writing from Pittsburgh, where I’m currently located for a few days of recruitment travel.  It’s been a whirlwind week so far, between school visits, interviews, and a college fair.  But I did manage to find time to snag a bite to eat at Primanti’s (classic Pittsburgh cuisine – think unhealthy sandwiches with the fries used as a condiment), and to get in a run early this morning through Schenley and Frick Parks (shout-out to Charlie for the great location suggestion).  Did I mention I’m training for the Richmond marathon this year?  That’s going to make travel season all the more interesting, trying to fit in all my training runs when I’m working 10-14 hours a day.

My colleagues and I are scattered all over the country right now, doing our recruitment thing.  Since we get a lot of requests for meetings and interviews – from both parents and students – I wanted to address that briefly in a post.  We do our best to accommodate as many requests as possible, but please remember that our time on the road is limited.  While I would ordinarily spend a full week in Pittsburgh, for example, I’m limited to just three days this year, which I know is not nearly enough time – but that’s just the way things worked out.  It’s great if we’re able to meet you on the road or when you visit campus, but it’s not absolutely necessary.

Remember that there are many ways to contact us and “get on our radar screen,” so to speak.  If you can’t make it to the meeting when we visit your school, or we can’t accommodate an individual meeting, it’s okay.  You can call us or e-mail us, or even send us a letter to introduce yourself.  Ultimately, though, I would emphasize that the best way to get on our radar screen is to submit a great application (seniors, have you written those essays yet?)  We’re always excited to meet you in person and hear of your excitement about UR, but your academic achievements and the personal qualities demonstrated in your well-crafted essays and resumes are going to be much more important to us come application season.

Okay, it’s back to school visits for me.  Hope to see you (or hear from you) soon!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

