On the road again…

By Tom

Anyone else know that Willie Nelson song? I have no idea how I do, but it’s been stuck in my head all day today. And appropriately so!

Fall travel season has arrived once again. I’m not sure how it’s snuck up so quickly, but here it is. I’m in the midst of my first trip of the year, a brief three-day jaunt through central Pennsylvania (shout-out to all the great students I’ve met so far in Lancaster and Harrisburg!)

Fall travel, for those unfamiliar, constitutes a large part of what we as admission officers do during the months of September, October, and early November. We’re on the road, visiting high schools, attending college fairs, conducting interviews, and meeting hundreds of prospective students. It’s a busy time for us, but a very exciting time as well, as we get to meet so many potential members of the Class of 2013 (and even 2014 and 2015!) and learn all about the wonderful accomplishments you’ve made in high school.

Of course it can be chaotic as well. With each of us on the road five or six weeks, the office can feel a bit empty for those in town between trips. When I left on Tuesday for this trip, I said goodbye to colleagues whom I won’t see for quite some time – Ruth Marie and I, for example, won’t catch each other until October 24th, while my next-door office neighbor Lee and I will not be in town at the same time again until November 3rd! When these are people you’re used to seeing every day around the office, it’s a little strange to be so out of touch.

Wondering whether one of us is going to be in your area? Check out our travel site. It’s not completely up and running yet – apologies to those states that aren’t yet linked, but please check back soon and hopefully we’ll have your state’s info loaded in.

If you’re wondering why we may not be visiting your area or your high school, let me first tell you that we would love to do so! But there are approximately 14,000 high schools in the United States (not to mention the rest of the world) and only 15 of us. We do everything we can to cover as much territory as possible, but we do have some limitations. Yet another reason to consider visiting campus if you’re able, or contacting us with any questions you have. Even if we can’t visit you, we’re glad to help out with any and every question you might have about UR or our admission process.

Check back in during the coming weeks to see where I am and what I’m doing – it’s going to be a roller-coaster ride from coast to coast over the next two months!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

