Fall Early Decision

By Maria

Yay! Early Decision applications have been pouring into the Admission Office for the past several weeks, and today is the Fall Early Decision deadline. Reading season is probably my favorite time of year. That’s partly because Fall happens to be my favorite season as leaves change, craft shows abound and holiday anticipation builds; but, reading the applications from students I’ve met on the road brings everything full circle. Seeing first hand how far a student has pushed herself in the classroom, reading about a young man’s commitment to environmentalism or hearing from an enthusiastic guidance counselor makes reading season dynamic.

Having applied Early Decision myself, I can relate to what ED applicants might be feeling. I was worried. I worried about completing the application on time. I worried that my essay wasn’t profound, witty or interesting enough. Then I fretted over when to mail my application and if it reached the school in time. And, finally, after everything was turned in and I had checked on my application’s status, I worried about getting in. So, I know what you’re going through. I say don’t worry. If you’ve challenged yourself in high school and taken the time to prepare a well-written essay, your story will come through.

Now its time for me to turn my attention to the pile of applications stacked neatly on my desk. Its time to meet potential members of Richmond’s class of 2012.

One Comment

  1. Patrick Murray
    Posted November 28, 2007 at 1:01 am | Permalink

    It’s reassuring to know that even college admissions officers once worried over their own college applications. I guess this has been a stress-hyping process for years and years.

    Thanks from all of us applicants for the reassuring and meaningful statement that you look forward to “reading season.” Needless to say, I hope my application passes the test!

    Best regards to you and the
    rest of Richmond Admissions,

    Pat Murray–ED 1 applicant


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

