Another welcome to the blog

By Tom

Hello out there!

My name is Tom Nicholas, and I’m the newest admission counselor at the University of Richmond, although I’ll lose that distinction officially on Monday as a new assistant director joins our staff. I just finished my second month on the job, and so far it’s been great. I’m really looking forward to visiting high schools and college fairs in the fall – my travel territory includes Delaware and my home state of Pennsylvania – and I’m excited to start the process of recruiting the UR Class of 2012!

A brief bit about myself: I grew up in Lancaster County, PA (famous for the Amish), and after high school I went on to study German and English at none other than the University of Richmond. I am a proud alumnus of this university – during my undergraduate years I came to love and appreciate so many different aspects of Richmond, from its quality academics to the beautiful campus to an outstanding financial aid program. I am thrilled at the opportunity I now have to represent and contribute to my alma mater, and I am already finding the admissions profession to be an exciting and rewarding field of work.

Outside of the office, I enjoy reading, running (I hope to run a marathon next year), and amateur astronomy. I’m also a bit of a language nut – I speak German and French and I’m learning Arabic, while language history is also an area of interest (I love reading Old and Middle English poetry). I also enjoy spending time in the city of Richmond; there’s a lot to do, from cafes and coffee shops to museums and theater.

As I learn more about the world of college admissions this year, I hope that I can share some of that insight with you through this blog and keep you posted on what’s going on in our office. I know that the next eight months are going to be a roller-coaster ride for all of you high school seniors who are applying to college, and I hope that I can help make your ride a little smoother. We love getting questions, so feel free to ask away!

9 Comments

  1. Posted December 1, 2007 at 10:28 am | Permalink

    Hello Sir,
    I’m currently in the military getting out in 2weeks,been out of H.S for 5yrs &has no SAT scores.What’re my chances of getting into UR if i so choose to & how do i go about doing so. Also i’m a resident of MD & will like to major in chemical engineering.

    Thanks.

  2. tomrnicholas
    Posted December 6, 2007 at 11:27 am | Permalink

    The SAT is a requirement for all first-year applicants who have no prior college education. You can check with the College Board (collegeboard.com) to find out about testing centers and dates.

    While we do not have a full engineering program at UR, we have several Dual Degree programs that students choose to take advantage of, especially when they are looking for a solid liberal arts education but also want to complete a specialized engineering degree. These students spend 3-4 years at UR before transferring to one of our partner schools for 1-2 years to finish their engineering work (this results in two separate degrees, one from the University of Richmond and one in engineering from the partner institution). In Chemical Engineering, we currently have partnerships with Columbia University, Virginia Tech, and Virginia Commonwealth University. For more information, please visit http://admissions.richmond.edu/majors/others/engineering.html.

  3. Posted January 17, 2008 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    Im wondering if the Dual Degree programs are difficult for a student who doesn’t have prior college education, but a strong SAT coming into UR. Where I can find more info?

  4. Tom
    Posted January 18, 2008 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    Great question! The Dual Degree Engineering programs aren’t designed for students with prior college education, but for first-time degree-seeking undergraduate students. To see what a typical UR student looks like on paper, check out our profile at http://admissions.richmond.edu/profile/index.html. For questions specifically about the Dual Degree programs, see the link in my comment above – and if that page doesn’t answer all your questions, feel free to contact the program coordinator, whose info is listed at the bottom of that page.

  5. Posted June 9, 2008 at 2:19 pm | Permalink

    Hi Tom, I’m wondering as a soon-to-be 1st year student if I am required to live on campus or if I’m free to seek lodgings elsewhere. Thanks & take care. –A

  6. Tom
    Posted June 10, 2008 at 2:23 pm | Permalink

    Andrew,

    No student is required to live on campus, including first-year students, so you are welcome to seek off-campus lodging. UR is in a very residential area of the city, with lots of neighborhoods and apartment complexes nearby.

    Most students do, however, choose to live on campus (92% of them stay on campus all four years and live in the University Forest Apartments as seniors). In a lot of ways, it comes down to your own personal preferences.

    We look forward to seeing you in August!

    Tom

  7. Posted August 26, 2008 at 3:37 am | Permalink

    I’m also a resident of maryland and was interested in coming to UR as a first-time degree-seeking undergraduate student. I will be living on campus

  8. Posted January 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm | Permalink

    Hi Tom,

    Does Richmond have a list of available scholarships? I am also a veteran and wondered if there are any financial options available. I have used my GI bill from previous schooling.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

