Welcome to UR’s admission blog

By Maria

Hello Potential Spiders!

Hi, I’m Maria and I have one of the best jobs around—Assistant Director of Admission at the University of Richmond. Sure, things didn’t start off that way. Just like most of you, I grew up with a couple of potential jobs in mind, none of which happened to be admission officer at a top tier university. Honestly, I sort of stumbled into my first job in admission just before I graduated from college. At the time, I had no idea that I’d have the opportunity to interact with people from all over the world, read applications, travel to exotic destinations recruiting the best and the brightest, participate in selection committee and plan outreach events.

Before I start pulling back the curtain on the world of admission at Richmond, I want to share a bit about myself. Where do I start? Okay, well, I’m a native Virginian—yes, that means born and raised in the South. But, most people tell me I lack that quintessential Southern accent; maybe that’s because my parents are Dutch and Puerto Rican. Who knows? Living in the South has this special allure. If you’re a fellow Southerner, you already know exactly what I’m talking about, but if you’re new to Virginia then you’re in for a treat. Growing up, my family moved around a lot which was great because I was able to meet a lot of people and see a lot of the state. That’s definitely when I developed my passion for traveling and people watching.

When I’m not in the office or traveling for the University, I love reading (I’m currently into historical fiction and memoirs), taking pottery classes, hanging out with friends, and playing with my dog. And, of course, surfing Facebook and blogging.

I hope that this blog will afford interested students an outlet for connecting with the University of Richmond Admission Office. Through honest answers and straightforward dialogue, I plan on demystifying admission at Richmond and helping to ease some of your worries.

I’d love to hear what’s on your mind, what’s going on in your world right now and any struggles you may be going through relative to the college search process. You and I are going to get to know each other pretty well.

23 Comments

  1. Will McIntosh
    Posted September 24, 2007 at 1:12 pm | Permalink

    Well, since you asked, The search and application process is quite gruelling. So much paperwork in addition to regular schoolwork and sports. I visited Richmond in the spring with my Mom and it is my top choice so far. I love the Business and Leadership programs as well as the campus and location.

  2. mariacedeno
    Posted September 27, 2007 at 12:26 am | Permalink

    Will,
    Gosh! Sorry it has taken me so long to post a comment. Travel season has begun and I have been flying all over the map visiting high schools and college fairs. But, now that I’m sitting in my hotel in Austin, Texas I have a few minutes to respond to your post.

    I remember applying to colleges during the fall of my senior year thinking the exact same thoughts. I couldn’t believe everyone said senior year was the time to kick back and enjoy your last year in high school. How could anyone “kick back” with tough classes, tons of homework and applications to fill out?! But, this too will pass. I learned to balance some of my time that fall in ways that I hadn’t had to do before; and, it was great practice for the time management skills I would need in college.

    I’m happy to hear that Richmond ranks highly on your college list. UR is an amazing place to be– there are so many new and exciting things going on. From our new President, Dr. Ed Ayers, to the $9 million gift we received to build a new Weinstein International Center on campus, it’s no wonder Richmond made Newsweek’s 25 hottest campuses!

  3. Posted November 7, 2007 at 12:06 pm | Permalink

    I am also happy to read this. Hope to visit Richmond too.

  4. Posted January 11, 2008 at 11:49 am | Permalink

    Thanks a lot for your help throughout this process!

  5. Posted January 29, 2008 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

    Hey,
    I think blogs are a perfect way for college admission to get interested students! I can’t wait to take a trip to see Richmond…..

  6. Posted January 29, 2008 at 8:47 pm | Permalink

    My son graduates from high school this year and is interested in visiting Richmond.

  7. Posted February 13, 2008 at 6:13 am | Permalink

    I like your post and I’m very positive that it would help attract more students to Richmond. It’s not everyday that I see a school’s admission department being friendly with students. Hope there will be more blogs like this. Great work!

  8. Posted May 2, 2008 at 2:43 am | Permalink

    Thanks a lot for your help!

  9. Posted May 17, 2008 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Keep up the amazing work at the admissions department. I’m talking my neighbor’s son into applying next year. Go Spiders!

  10. Posted June 26, 2008 at 9:39 pm | Permalink

    Love the Spiders admissions office. I’m hoping my nephew gets in next fall! 🙂

  11. Posted June 28, 2008 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    Go Spiders!

  12. bemzinside
    Posted August 31, 2008 at 11:01 am | Permalink

    i hope to go there..

  13. Posted September 13, 2008 at 12:26 pm | Permalink

    This blog is really helpful for people trying to get into Richmond. Keep up the good work.

  14. ronnie
    Posted January 9, 2009 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    thanks

  15. Aaron Klimchuk
    Posted January 20, 2009 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    Hi
    I am planning to attend the Preview Richmond event and will probably fly down and back on the same day. Will I be missing anything if I don’t get to campus until around 11?

    • Tom
      Posted January 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm | Permalink

      Hi Aaron,

      Preview is a full-day event that starts at 9:30, so you would miss the first couple of sessions (President’s Welcome, academics overview, student life panel, possibly part of the admissions/financial aid overview). But if you arrive by 11 you’ll still be in time for the campus tour, lunch, and afternoon sessions (on more in-depth topics like student life, experiential learning, academic advising/outcomes, the admissions process, etc.) You’ll have to weigh whether you think that’s worth it or not! Either way, we hope to see you on campus soon.

      Tom

  16. Arfandia
    Posted September 24, 2009 at 5:40 am | Permalink

    This blog is really helpful for people trying to get into Richmond. Keep up the good work.

  17. Posted December 9, 2009 at 1:58 am | Permalink

    Hi! I just wanted to know what are the additional requirements for foreign students? 😉

    • Tom
      Posted December 9, 2009 at 3:35 pm | Permalink

      Jocelyn,

      There is a short supplemental form that includes the International Financial Certification that all non-U.S. citizens/permanent residents must complete. Other than that, the only additional information is the International Financial Aid Application, if needed (only required if you’re applying for financial aid). You can find everything you need at http://admissions.richmond.edu/application/international-requirements.html.

  18. Eric
    Posted March 25, 2010 at 10:17 pm | Permalink

    Just a quick question, I’ve already been accepted and am excited on attending U or R this upcoming fall. But i would like to know out of the kids that are accepeted, how many of those kids do not accept the invitation to U of R and decide to go else where?

    • Tom
      Posted March 26, 2010 at 10:38 am | Permalink

      Eric,

      Congratulations on your acceptance!! We hope to see you on campus soon. 🙂

      Typically around one third of the students to whom we offer spaces will accept our offers. This is pretty typical for selective colleges – the more selective you become, the more offers your admitted students are going to receive from other institutions. Last year, our typical admitted student applied to about nine schools and was admitted to seven of them. With seven offers of admission on average, we’re certainly glad that one in three chose Richmond!

      This all injects a good dose of unpredictability into the process. Last year, our “yield” (the percentage of students accepting our offers) jumped up 8% over previous years… with 8% more students accepting our offers of admission, we ended up with a significantly larger class than anticipated. We still don’t know all the factors that contributed to this 8% jump. (This, incidentally, is why most colleges keep a wait list – because it can be such a difficult thing to predict how many students will accept their offers, and because it can vary so much from year to year.)

  19. Posted December 20, 2010 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Hello Maria,

    It’s nice to know there are still some good people out there like you that care and have a passion for what you are doing. This blog is a great idea to help people trying to get into Richmond.Good luck and keep up the good work.

  20. Kenna
    Posted January 11, 2012 at 3:35 am | Permalink

    Thank you for sharing!! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

